2016 Essay Competition Winners Announced

Numan, Adamawa, Nigeria, December 24, 2016 – We are pleased to announce the results of this year’s edition of the Mgbanghe Annual Essay Writing Competition, which ran from November to October 2016.

We received a total of 35 entries for the 2016 edition of the competition, which is more than 100% increase in the number of entries, a clear testimony to the growing popularity of this competition which was launched only last year. Out of the 35 essays, five were disqualified for failing to comply with our participation guidelines.

This year’s essays were of outstanding quality, which gave the judges a hard time deciding on the top three in each category. In fact, the least average score in the secondary school category was 45% while the highest was 75%. In the tertiary category, the highest average score was 80% while 43% was the least.

“We are very delighted with the quality of essays we received this year,” said Senan Murray, Mgbanghe’s Educational Services Coordinator. “It shows the growing popularity of our essay competition. And we are even more pleased that we are able to provide these students the opportunity to develop the culture of constructive critical engagements with topical issues.”

This year’s winners:


Takushi Teneke, Federal Polytechnic, Mubi (Demsa, Demsa LGA)
Joseph Nathaniel, University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri (Numan, Numan LGA)
Mwagon Kwakuroto, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (Gamadio, Numan LGA)


Cyril Christopher, Bright Future High School, Numan (Demsa, Demsa LGA)
Doni N. Noline, Government Secondary School, Numan (Bare, Numan LGA)
Sylvester Pwadukudo, St Patrick’s Academy, Numan (Gyawana, Lamurde LGA)

Jeremiah Alipius Shagnah
Secretary General

For enquiries, you may call: +234 805 743 5992; +234 805 963 1302; +234 817 454 7560 Or send an email to: mgbanghe@gmail.com